Monday, March 17, 2014

72 schools to face the music

BANGALORE: Non-compliance with the norms of the Right to Education Act could result in 72 schools in Karnataka losing government recognition. In a circular, the education department said 26 schools from Bangalore and 72 across the state will be derecognized.

Mysore district has 21 errant schools, the highest in the state, followed by Bangalore South with 15 and Bangalore North with 11. Of the 72 schools, 43 have violated the 25% reservation quota, 10 have gone to the court against the Act and 22 haven't implemented the Act for other reasons.

"All recognized unaided, CBSE and ICSE schools are suppose to implement the RTE Act," says the education department circular.

Incidentally, 1,849 schools in Karnataka haven't received any application under RTE. Of these, 217 are in Bangalore South and 130 in Bangalore North. The department also found that 198 schools lack basic amenities, 799 don't meet quality standards and 852 have neither basic amenities nor quality.

"The district-level education authority set up under the RTE also acts as grievance reddressal authority and can take legal action against these schools. The schools can be derecognized after taking a final order from this authority. If schools continue to function after recognition is withdrawn, other action will be taken against them," said the circular.

No comments:

Post a Comment